O.C. Bandilla banduria

Here’s a second Filipino banduria… this one’s from Manila. Palochina top, rosewood back and sides. Bright sounding with very good projection.
I contacted Ollie Bandilla via Facebook. I believe she is the builder’s daughter. Good communication and good service. The banduria was well-packaged and arrived in 2 1/2 weeks (Manila to Ohio USA). Great price, great value. Couldn’t be more pleased.

21 Responses to “O.C. Bandilla banduria”


  1. 1 Chris Taylor January 13, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Thanks for the information and the photos. I am considering buying one. Is the soundboard solid wood or plywood? What is the neck wood species? Where are they built? (Please don’t say China!).

    Thanks,
    Chris

    • 2 John McCann January 15, 2012 at 5:16 pm

      The soundboard is ‘palo china’, a pine species. Don’t know about the neck wood. These instruments are built in the Greater Manila area.

  2. 3 jorge March 8, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Hello, I am Jorge:

    What is filipino Bandurria scale?

    Thank you.

  3. 5 jorge March 17, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Hello, I am Jorge:

    What is the scale (distance bridge-nut) of the banduria?

    Thank you.

  4. 7 myra leslie narido January 11, 2013 at 3:59 am

    Sir, how much did you pay for this? Oh, how I wish to own one. I learned to play banduria when I was in elementary grades (I’m now 46 ^-^) using my grandfather’s. Lately I tried playing again using a borrowed banduria, even taught my 12-year old daughter to play it. I returned it already to its owner and dream to own one..

  5. 10 George Wolfe February 3, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I just bought a nice one in Cebu. The Alegre Guitar company makes 3 quality levels. Mine is the cheapest, about US $100 with native mahogany back and sides and Canadian Spruce top. They have all the prime tone woods available, and dry wood for 5 years before using it to build. They ship world wide.

  6. 12 Lina Joi March 24, 2013 at 1:14 am

    Hi. Saw your blog.

    How much did you pay for your bandurria? Can you please tell me your contact also.

    I want to buy one. Was happy to read your blog. Glad to know you received yours from the Philippines to Ohio.

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    Thanks,

    Lina

  7. 13 carla joy camata July 17, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    how much po????

  8. 15 Frank August 31, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Where can you purchase banduria strings here in the US? I only see advertised 12 string sets. Where can I get 14 string sets for the Filipino version?

    • 16 John McCann October 14, 2013 at 1:51 pm

      In the USA, I buy 3 sets of light gauge acoustic guitar strings. High-to-low, you will use: E (all 3 strings, B (all 3 strings), G (all 3 strings), D (2 of the 3 strings), A (2 of the 3 strings), E (1 of the 3 strings). So you’ll have 4 strings from the sets that won’t be used. Hope this helps.

  9. 17 Kendrick vincenzo a. Formoso October 14, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    How much is the banduria? Where can we meet?

  10. 19 old999 July 9, 2015 at 4:42 am

    I bought an O. C. Bandilla banduria a year ago. I really like it, BUT the sound board is badly warped – still playable but warped. (I tried it out with a string band I just joined and everyone likes it.) I live in Massachusetts and tried very hard to keep it from cracking during the winter by having an in-case humidifier. The local luthier tells me it was probably made from green (improperly cured) wood. I’m afraid to buy a replacement because I now expect the same result.

  11. 20 asasasas July 11, 2015 at 7:31 am

    hi, are you selling bandilla -bandurria ?


Leave a Reply

